Putting the ‘e’ in White Lightening

30 03 2006

Feel ashamed… I faded out the Pixies to play Jackson 5…

Don’t you judge me! I had no time left! If I hadn’t done it I wouldn’t have been able to close with Son of a Preacher Man…

So anyway, tonight I left work and hopped the DLR to Cyprus to see White Lightning. Debs and Lily were on top form but Lily had had a bad day and Debs wanted to get the last train, so I got left in charge. And thank you girls! Initially it was like the bit in Top Gun where Maverick spazzes out and has flashbacks and shit and can’t fire a missile – I acted all that out for Deborah as well, she wasn’t sure – but finally I pressed play on Dizzee Rascal and well, after that it was like I’d never been away.

I batted away requests with the seasoned air of someone who doesn’t give a toss, played Ed fucking Ball, and even kept the dance floor alive for at least fifteen seconds.

Last songs: Buzzcocks – Ever Fallen in Love, at which point some twat put the lights on! But then some kind soul turned them off again so I fired up Pixies: Debaser… and none of those bastards turned a hair! How old are you people?! Like, eighteen or something!? Jesus! So then, god help me, I faded the Pixies (the clock was really fucking tight – tick tock tick tock fick fock what am I gonna play next??!!?) – for Jackson 5. The kids danced for a bit! And then I closed with Dusty Springfield and Son of a Preacher man. So it worked.

Ah man. DJing is the most fun a man… well, the most fun I can have. I should do it more often…

Actions

Information

One response

30 03 2006
darbaumes

thanks for the comment. yeah people do say “this isn’t even funny”… just one of those phrases where i wonder why we say it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

